Skip to Main Content

News Center

Dean Eddington Named Chair of NIPTE Board of Directors

Eddington becomes third person to hold this important position since organization’s inception in 2007

By Malissa Carroll
September 18, 2012

The National Institute for Pharmaceutical Technology and Education (NIPTE) has elected the new members of its 2012-2015 Board of Director’s Executive Committee and Natalie D. Eddington, PhD, FAAPS, FCP, dean and professor of the University of Maryland School of Pharmacy, was named its chairperson.

“I am extremely pleased and gratified to have been elected chair of the NIPTE Board of Directors by my member colleagues,” says Eddington. “It is my goal as chair to provide a framework that will address important research questions regarding manufacturing, drug shortages, and clinical trials.”

NIPTE, Inc., is a non-profit academic organization dedicated to research and education in pharmaceutical product development and manufacturing. The organization is comprised of 12 universities throughout the United States that are leaders in pharmaceutical science and engineering, including the University of Maryland School of Pharmacy, which is a founding member. It strives to increase science and engineering-based understanding in the field of pharmaceutical product development and manufacturing to aid the development of novel state-of-the-art technologies and the implementation of science-based regulations that allow new drug discoveries to be brought to market faster with less variability, higher predictability of performance, and at a significantly lower cost.

Eddington is a nationally renowned expert in drug delivery and pharmacokinetics. She joined the University of Maryland School of Pharmacy faculty in 1991 after serving as assistant director of new drug development at Pfizer, and was appointed director of pharmacokinetics and drug delivery for the School’s academic programs in 1999. As chair of the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences from 2003 to 2007, Eddington guided the launch of the Center for Nanomedicine and Cellular Delivery, which brings researchers from multiple disciplines together in an effort to discover new and better ways of providing pharmaceutical treatment. In 2007, she was appointed dean of the School of Pharmacy.

Eddington has served as a NIPTE board member since 2008. In 2010, she was elected secretary of the board and also served as a member of its Executive Committee. Eddington is the third person to hold the position of chair of the board since the organization’s inception in 2007.

Related News Stories