Skip to Main Content

News Center

SOP Honors Long-Time Associate Dean; Announces New Changes in Leadership

Jill Morgan, PharmD, steps down as associate dean for student affairs after eight years; former assistant dean of experiential learning named as successor.

By Malissa Carroll
June 17, 2013

On June 6, the University of Maryland School of Pharmacy hosted a celebration to recognize the contributions made by Jill Morgan, PharmD, associate professor in the Department of Pharmacy Practice and Science (PPS), during her time as associate dean for student affairs, a position from which she stepped down on June 1. Cherokee Layson-Wolf, PharmD, CGP, BCACP, FAPhA, associate professor in PPS and former assistant dean for experiential learning, has been named as Morgan’s successor in this role.

“Dr. Morgan has committed significant time and effort to the School and our students, and her contributions are very much appreciated,” said Natalie D. Eddington, PhD, FAAPS, FCP, dean and professor of the School of Pharmacy. “As an associate dean, she faced challenges with both students and our faculty that required a unique skill set, and I can guarantee that each group felt as if she had their best interest in mind.”

During her tenure as associate dean, Morgan distinguished herself in a number of ways. She implemented improvements to the student admission process, developed the infrastructure required to support the School’s Doctor of Pharmacy program enrollment expansion to the Universities at Shady Grove, and streamlined the awarding of scholarship support for students. She also revamped recruitment processes, implemented a new student advising process, launched the Job Ready program to help prepare students for the workforce, and mentored many students on their paths to becoming pharmacists.

“I will always treasure my time as associate dean, and am thankful for the many fond memories I have of working with faculty and staff to help our students grow, both personally and professionally, during their time at the School,” says Morgan. “After serving in this position for a number of years, however, I am excited to have an opportunity to engage with students in another way, by focusing on my teaching commitments at the School and other professional activities.”

In addition to her work in student affairs, Morgan has served on a number of School committees, including the Pharmacy Hall Instructional Design Committee; the Shady Grove Steering Committee; the Residency Director Committee; the Pharmacy Practice Lab Committee; the Experiential Learning Committee; and the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE) Student Affairs Self Study Committee. She also maintained her teaching commitments and launched the first Pediatric Pharmacy Residency at the University of Maryland Medical Center, serving as its director. Later, she developed a unique practice in which she managed home total parental nutrition services for children year-round, as well as an outpatient infusion program for respiratory syncytial virus (RSV) treatments.

After stepping down from her role as associate dean, Morgan plans to focus on her role as an associate professor in PPS. She plans to teach, perform service and scholarship activity, and play a leadership role in the University of Maryland Medical System’s transformation of the Prince George’s County Healthcare System.

Board certified in ambulatory care pharmacy and geriatric pharmacy, Layson-Wolf assumed her new role as associate dean for student affairs on June 1.

“Dr. Layson-Wolf is a natural choice for our associate dean of student affairs,” says Dean Eddington. “She has a strong bond with our student pharmacists from her time as assistant dean for experiential learning, and as advisor for many of our student government organizations. Her grasp of the complex issues facing our students as they progress through the curriculum is impressive. She will be a trusted resource for our students and our faculty in her new role.”

Layson-Wolf is an alumna of the School of Pharmacy who has served as faculty co-advisor for the School’s American Pharmacists Association Academy of Student Pharmacists for eight years. She is part of the Maryland Laboratory Advisory Committee, faculty of the American Pharmacists Association’s (APhA) pharmacy-based immunization delivery certificate course, and a member of the APhA’s Community Pharmacy Residency Program Advisory Panel. She also serves as director of the School of Pharmacy’s Community Pharmacy Practice residency program. Named a Distinguished Young Pharmacist by both the Lambda Kappa Sigma pharmacy fraternity and the Maryland Pharmacists Association, Layson-Wolf plans to maintain and expand upon Morgan’s success in her new role.

“Having previously served as assistant dean for experiential learning, I feel strongly committed to our students’ success,” says Layson-Wolf. “I believe my experiences in experiential learning, as a residency director, student organization faculty advisor, faculty member, course manager, and participant on numerous local, state, and national committees have prepared me well to work with our student pharmacists as they matriculate through the curriculum and prepare for professional opportunities.”

Following Layson-Wolf as the new assistant dean for experiential learning is Toyin Tofade, PharmD, MS, BCPS, CPCC, associate professor in PPS and former associate director of experiential learning at the School of Pharmacy, who was recently named education co-lead of the International Pharmaceutical Federation’s (FIP) Continuing Professional Development/Continuing Education (CPD/CE) Development Team, enabling her to work with leaders across the globe on issues related to pharmacy education.

“I am excited and honored to have the opportunity to continue serving the School’s faculty, students, and preceptors in this new role,” says Tofade. “Moving forward, the Experiential Learning Program at the School of Pharmacy will continue to strive to be a leader in providing high quality preceptors, sites, and services to create the best learning experiences for our students.”

A member of both the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education Continuing Professional Development (CPD) taskforce and the North Carolina CPD taskforce, Tofade joined the School of Pharmacy from the University of North Carolina Eshelman School of Pharmacy’s Division of Pharmacy Practice and Experiential Education. She worked at the Wake Area Health Education Center (AHEC), where she first served as associate director, then as pharmacotherapy director. In 2008, she was named Wake AHEC Mentor of the Year and was recognized by the internal medicine teaching service for her continued excellence and dedication to the internal medicine resident and student lecture series.

“In the year since she joined the School as associate director for experiential learning, Dr. Tofade has significantly contributed to the development of our experiential learning program,” says Dean Eddington. “She has met with more than 300 of our preceptors, which has contributed to our ability to increase our critical preceptor pool. She has also enhanced preceptor development programs for our now 800+ preceptors. Her recent appointment to be FIP Ed Co-lead of the CPD/CE Development Team will enable her to work with leaders across the globe on pharmacy education issues. I look forward to all that she is sure to contribute in her new role as assistant dean.”

Related News Stories