Skip to Main Content

News Center

Layson-Wolf Named President-Elect of Maryland Pharmacists Association

Dr. Cherokee Layson-Wolf will succeed current president Dr. Kristen Fink as president of the state’s leading professional organization for pharmacists.

Layson-Wolf Named President-Elect of Maryland Pharmacists Association

By Malissa Carroll
June 28, 2016

Cherokee Layson-Wolf, PharmD ‘00, BCACP, FAPhA, associate professor in the Department of Pharmacy Practice and Science (PPS) and associate dean for student affairs at the University of Maryland School of Pharmacy, has been named vice president and president-elect of the Maryland Pharmacists Association (MPhA). Installed into office on June 12, Layson-Wolf will also serve as president of the organization for 2017-2018.

“The members of MPhA have made an outstanding decision in electing Dr. Layson-Wolf to serve as their next vice president and president-elect,” says Natalie D. Eddington, PhD, FCP, FAAPS, dean and professor of the School of Pharmacy. “During her time at the School, Dr. Layson-Wolf has demonstrated a continued commitment to advancing the pharmacy profession across the state of Maryland beyond. In her service as both the previous assistant dean for experiential learning and current associate dean for student affairs, Dr. Layson-Wolf has proven herself to be an exemplary role model for students and faculty alike, and I am confident that she will bring the same focus, dedication, and leadership to her role with MPhA.”

Established in 1882, MPhA strives to strengthen the profession of pharmacy, advocate for all pharmacists in Maryland, and promote excellence in pharmacy practice. Layson-Wolf joined the organization in 1998, while still a student at the School of Pharmacy. Since that time, she has worked alongside its leadership and staff to support a wide range of pharmacy education, practice, and advocacy initiatives, including the national Script Your Future campaign to raise awareness about medication adherence. She has previously served as the organization’s Speaker of the House and as a member of its Board of Trustees.

“We are thrilled that Dr. Layson-Wolf has been selected to serve as vice president and president-elect of MPhA,” says Jill A. Morgan, PharmD, BCPS, BCPPS, associate professor and chair of PPS. “Through the numerous leadership positions that she has held both inside and outside of the School of Pharmacy, Dr. Layson-Wolf has advocated for and helped put into practice a number of advancements in the areas of pharmacist-delivered immunizations, point of care testing, medication adherence, and patient care program implementation. She is a true pioneer in her field, and someone who is regularly sought out for her knowledge and expertise. We look forward to hearing about all that she is sure to accomplish in her new role.”

As vice president and president-elect of MPhA, Layson-Wolf will support and assist the organization’s president, while working alongside other officers on the Board of Trustees to respond to the changing needs of its members. Upon assuming the role of president, Layson-Wolf will oversee the Board of Trustees to help ensure that members fulfill their responsibilities for the continued governance of the organization.

“The relationships and connections that I have gained through my work with MPhA have been invaluable to my development as a practicing pharmacist and pharmacy educator,” says Layson-Wolf. “I have professionally benefitted from a number of advancements that can be credited to my colleagues in MPhA, who believed that pharmacists could do more to serve patients, and advocated to help make those beliefs a reality for practicing pharmacists across the state. However, while our profession has made great strides in recent years, there still exist a number of opportunities to expand pharmacists’ access to patient care. I look forward to working with fellow members of MPhA to determine how we can best leverage those opportunities and continue to move the profession forward for future generations of practitioners.”

In addition to assuming her new role as vice president and president-elect of MPhA, Layson-Wolf will maintain her current appointments at the School, including her roles as director of the University of Maryland PGY-1 Community Pharmacy Residency Program and pharmacist with the School’s Patients, Pharmacists Partnerships (P3) Program – a pharmacist-delivered comprehensive medication management program for individuals with chronic diseases.

Related News Stories