Skip to Main Content

News Center

Three SOP Faculty Members Honored with Statewide Awards

The Maryland Society of Health-System Pharmacy recognized Drs. Brent Reed, James Trovato, and Kristin Watson for their dedication to advancing the pharmacy profession.

Three SOP Faculty Members Honored with Statewide Awards

By Malissa Carroll
December 3, 2015

Three faculty members in the Department of Pharmacy Practice and Science (PPS) at the University of Maryland School of Pharmacy were honored with statewide awards from the Maryland Society of Health-System Pharmacy (MSHP) in recognition of their excellence and dedication to advancing the pharmacy profession. The awards were presented during the organization’s Fall Seminar Awards Dinner on Nov. 13.

“The School of Pharmacy leads pharmacy education, scientific discovery, patient care, and community engagement across the state of Maryland and beyond thanks, in part, to the efforts of faculty members who are recognized in their local communities, across the state, and throughout the nation as leaders in their fields,” says Jill A. Morgan, PharmD, BCPS, associate professor and chair of PPS. “Our department was delighted to have three of our faculty members recently honored by the state’s premier professional organization for health-system pharmacy for their individual commitments to advancing the pharmacy profession. This recognition reinforces our collective efforts to continue inspiring excellence in our students and expanding the impact of the pharmacist’s role on patient care and health outcomes.”

Established in 2013, MSHP’s Preceptor of the Year Award was presented to Brent Reed, PharmD, BCPS-AQ Cardiology, FAHA, assistant professor in PPS. Reed joined the faculty at the School of Pharmacy in 2013, and maintains a practice site at the University of Maryland Medical Center (UMMC) in the areas of heart failure and advanced cardiovascular therapies. He also serves as director of the School’s PGY2 Cardiology Specialty Residency Program. The award honors his significant contributions to the training and education of students and residents while demonstrating enthusiasm for teaching and mentoring and showing passion for the advancement of the pharmacy profession.

“One of the most rewarding aspects of being a pharmacy educator has been having the opportunity to interact with residents and fellows who share many of the same professional goals, values, and motivations as our faculty members,” says Reed, who also received the American College of Clinical Pharmacy’s New Educator Award earlier this year. “While these interactions allow me to share my knowledge and experience, the dynamic is truly two-way, as the residents and fellows continue to challenge me to be a better practitioner and educator. The greatest reward is watching them go on to achieve success as future practitioners and, hopefully, become preceptors themselves.”

Kristin Watson, PharmD, BCPS-AQ Cardiology, associate professor in PPS, was honored with the MSHP Excellence Award — a new award presented for the first time this year. Since joining the faculty at the School in 2005, Watson’s teaching and research has focused on the therapeutic management of heart failure patients and the appropriate use of cardiovascular medications. She maintains a practice sites at the Baltimore Veterans Affairs Medical Center, and serves as the director of the University of Maryland Residency and Fellowship Program. The award recognized her longstanding membership with MSHP, as well as her commitment to excellence in her service as a co-chair for two committees within the organization and current board member for the organization.

“Being involved with MSHP has been a genuinely rewarding experience, and I was incredibly surprised to learn that the organization wanted to honor my service with its inaugural MSHP Excellence Award,” says Watson. “It was truly an honor to stand alongside other remarkable pharmacists and pharmacy technicians from across the state of Maryland and celebrate our combined efforts to support and advance the organization as well as the pharmacy profession.”

However, it was James Trovato, PharmD, MBA, BCOP, FASHP, associate professor in PPS, who received the highest award presented by MSHP – the W. Arthur Purdum Award – in recognition of his significant and sustained contributions to the field of health-system pharmacy.

“Dr. Trovato is a recognized leader in oncology pharmacy practice, professional education, and residency training,” says Morgan. “He has served as a past president of MSHP, as well as in numerous offices with the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP), including chair of the House of Delegates, chair and director-at-large of the Executive Committee of the Section of Clinical Specialists and Scientists, and chair of the Council on Educational Affairs. He regularly demonstrates the high moral character, good citizenship, and exemplary professional ideals embodied by MSHP’s Purdum Award.”

Trovato received his Doctor of Pharmacy (PharmD) from Purdue University and completed an oncology pharmacy specialty residency at the University of Texas Science Center in San Antonio, Texas. He joined the faculty at the School of Pharmacy in 1994, where his research interests have focused on the prevention and management of complications related to chemotherapy or malignant disease in patients with cancer. He maintains a practice site at the University of Maryland Baltimore Washington Medical Center and serves as director of the School’s PGY2 Oncology Pharmacy Practice Residency Program.

“Throughout my career, I have strived to provide the highest quality oncology pharmacy services to patients across the state of Maryland, while working to advance the field of health-system pharmacy through my involvement with organizations such as MSHP and ASHP,” says Trovato. “It is truly an honor to have my efforts recognized by my colleagues and peers, and to be awarded this year’s W. Arthur Purdum Award for pursuing my passion.”

Related News Stories