Skip to Main Content

News Center

Faculty Member Named Chair-elect of AACP Section

Jill Morgan, PharmD, appointed to leadership role within one of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy’s newest interest groups

By Becky Ceraul
February 5, 2015

Jill Morgan, PharmD, BCPS, associate professor in the Department of Pharmacy Practice and Science (PPS) at the University of Maryland School of Pharmacy, has been voted chair-elect of the Administrative Services Section of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP). Her volunteer appointment begins in July 2015. She will become chair of the section in July 2016.

As chair-elect of AACP’s Administrative Services Section, Morgan will lead the section’s efforts to cultivate a professional environment among its members to help foster the development of excellence, innovation, and leadership in all professional endeavors, including administration, practice, scholarship, and service within the organization, the larger academic community, and the health care professions.

“I am thrilled to serve as chair-elect of AACP’s Administrative Services Section,” says Morgan, who also served as chair of the organization’s Student Services Personnel Special Interest Group in 2012. “It is exciting to have this opportunity to work with individuals from a wide range of backgrounds and disciplines, including many who do not hold faculty positions, but who play a crucial role in the success of their institutions. I look forward to forging new opportunities for collaboration among the section’s members, and giving a voice to these individuals and their phenomenal work.”

Having just entered its second year, AACP’s Administrative Services Section is a new component of the organization’s governance.

“Dr. Morgan’s appointment as chair-elect of AACP’s Administrative Services Section is a testament to her expertise and commitment to improving pharmacy education, not only at the School of Pharmacy but across the nation,” says Magaly Rodriguez de Bittner, PharmD, BCPS, CDE, FAPhA, professor and chair of PPS. “As the School’s former associate dean for student affairs, Dr. Morgan demonstrated a passion for facilitating collaboration among faculty, staff, and students, and ensured that everyone worked together to achieve a common mission. Her exceptional skill set will be invaluable to her success in her new role. We look forward to hearing about her accomplishments.”

Established in 1900, AACP is the national organization that represents pharmacy education in the United States. Its membership includes all accredited colleges and schools of pharmacy with degree programs accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education, including more than 6,400 faculty; 62,500 students enrolled in professional programs; and 5,100 individuals pursuing graduate education. The organization’s mission is to lead and partner with its members to advance pharmacy education, research, scholarship, practice, and service to improve societal health.

Related News Stories