Skip to Main Content

News Center

Outstanding PHSR Graduate Students Recognized in Annual Awards Ceremony

Awards recognize student achievements and generous donor support.

Daniel Mullins, Jeon-eun Park, Candace Hall, Jannat Saini, Jennifer Contreras, and Ester Villalonga Olives

By Andrew Tie
April 24, 2024

The Pharmaceutical Health Services Research (PHSR) graduate program at the University of Maryland School of Pharmacy (UMSOP) celebrated students during its annual Graduate Program Awards Presentation on April 10.

“Every year at the PHSR Graduate Student Awards Ceremony, I’m reminded of the extremely high-caliber of students that our program attracts, as well as the important work they pursue in a wide range of pharmacy related areas,” said Jill A. Morgan, PharmD, BCPS, BCPPS, FNAP, chair and professor of the Department of Practice, Sciences, and Health Outcomes Research (P-SHOR), where the PHSR program is housed.

The graduate program honored winners of several awards, including the Donald O. Fedder Memorial Fellowship, Harris Zuckerman Scholarship Award, Arthur Schwartz Memorial Scholarship, and the Pharmaceutical Health Services Research Student Travel Scholarship. Students gave presentations to their peers and faculty about their academic pursuits and their personal journeys that led them to graduate training in PHSR.

“Our program and students are fortunate to receive generous support from donors, alumni, faculty, and staff,” said Wendy Camelo Castillo, MD, PhD, MSc, assistant professor of P-SHOR and director of the PHSR graduate program. “The awards ceremony was our chance to shine the light on our students’ journeys and research and to recognize the donors who help make that work possible.”

Donald O. Fedder Memorial Fellowship

Recipients pictured in story feature image.


Established by Michaeline R. Fedder in honor of her husband Donald O. Fedder, DrPH, MPH, BSP, FAPhA, a public health pharmacist and long-time faculty member at the School of Pharmacy who passed away in 2010, the Donald O. Fedder Memorial Fellowship supports the training and development of a graduate student whose work focuses on social justice, pharmacy advocacy, or public health. Michaeline R. Fedder attended the ceremony, as did Donald’s son, Ira Fedder, PharmD ’79, MD, who has also contributed to the fellowship fund.

“This fellowship gives me the opportunity to seek additional training so I can continue my work in health equity,” Hall said. “I’m really focused on raising the patient and stakeholder voice in research and making sure their voices are heard.”

Harris Zuckerman Scholarship

Julia Slejko, Salome Ricci, Uzma Pathan, and Wendy Camelo Castillo


The Harris Zuckerman Scholarship Award was endowed by Ilene Harris, PharmD ’83, PhD, professor emeritus at UMSOP, to assist students interested in jointly pursuing Doctor of Pharmacy (PharmD) and PhD degrees. Named in honor of her parents – Daniel Harris, MD, and Ann Harris – the scholarship provides support for the training, development, and advancement of graduate students in the PhD in PHSR program at the School.

“This funding will support the dissemination of my research on substance use disorder and help it reach the right audience,” Pathan said. “I’m deeply committed to advancing health care through my research and making meaningful contributions, and this scholarship will definitely give me that opportunity.”

Arthur Schwartz Memorial Scholarship Award

Eberechukwu Onukwugha and Chia-Yun Hsu

Recipient: Chia-Yun Hsu, MS

As the first student admitted to the PhD in PHSR program, Arthur (Artie) Schwartz demonstrated great interest in drug use and pharmaceutical marketing issues. Following his death at an early age, his wife Karen Schwartz established the Arthur Schwartz Memorial Scholarship to provide funding for future students in the program based on academic standing and financial need. Artie’s son, Aaron, has also contributed to the scholarship fund.

“Today was a great opportunity to see our PHSR student achievements,” Hsu said. “I really appreciate this award because I’m still in the early phase of my dissertation research, so it’s going to support additional training in my work.”

Pharmaceutical Health Services Research Student Travel Scholarships

Tsung-Ying Lee, Eberechukwu Onukwugha, Lynn Huang, Daniel Mullins, Phuong Tran, Susan dosReis, and Yueh-Yi Chiang.


Spearheaded by C. Daniel Mullins, PhD, professor of P-SHOR, the PHSR Student Travel Scholarship was established with generous financial support from PHSR staff, faculty, students, and alumni. Its funds can be used to pay for travel expenses related to attendance and participation in professional conferences for any student enrolled in courses taught by faculty in the program. Recipients of the award are planning to attend various conferences around the world in the upcoming year.

“The travel award will help me attend the International Conference on Pharmacoepidemiology & Therapeutic Risk Management (ICPE), which is one of the most important conferences in the pharmacoepidemiology field,” Tran said. “Attending the conference will help me build my foundation of knowledge, learn new methods in the field, and assist in developing my dissertation. It’s really touching for me to be able to attend the conference with the support of the scholarship.”

Related News Stories