SOP’s Mullins Named Recipient of International Professional Leadership Award

Presented by the International Society of Pharmacoeconomics and Outcomes Research, the Marilyn Dix Smith Leadership Award recognizes individuals who have demonstrated extraordinary leadership to the organization.

By Malissa Carroll
July 5, 2017

Daniel Mullins, PhD, professor and chair of the Department of Pharmaceutical Health Services Research (PHSR), has been named the recipient of the 2017 Marilyn Dix Smith Leadership Award by the International Society of Pharmacoeconomics and Outcomes Research (ISPOR). Named for the founding executive director of ISPOR, the Marilyn Dix Smith Leadership Award is presented annually to an individual who has demonstrated extraordinary leadership to the organization.

“Leading a department often places exceptional demands on a faculty member’s time,” says Natalie D. Eddington, PhD, FCP, FAAPS, dean and professor of the School of Pharmacy. “A two-time chair of PHSR, Dr. Mullins’ has managed to not only balance the needs of his students with those of his department, but also to seek additional leadership opportunities outside of the School that reaffirm his passion for the field of health economics and outcomes research. I am thrilled that he has been selected as the recipient of this year’s ISPOR Marilyn Dix Smith Leadership Award.”

ISPOR is a nonprofit, international, educational, and scientific organization that strives to promote health economics and outcomes research excellence to improve decision making for health globally. Mullins has been a member of ISPOR for nearly 15 years and has served in a number of leadership roles within the organization, chairing and co-chairing several task forces and committees, including the organizing committee for its 13th Annual International Meeting in 2008, and its Faculty Advisors Council. He also currently serves as co-editor-in-chief for Value in Health, ISPOR’s professional journal.

The Marilyn Dix Smith Leadership Award is part of the ISPOR Awards Program, which is designed to foster and recognize excellence and outstanding technical achievement in health economics and outcomes research.

“When we select a recipient for this award, our committee looks beyond the basic award criteria for those individuals who bring vision to the organization and go the ‘extra mile’ in their efforts,” says Scott Ramsey, MD, PhD, member of the Cancer Prevention Program in the Division of Public Health Science at the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center in Seattle, Wash., who chaired the committee tasked with selecting the award recipient. “Dr. Mullins is a fantastic choice for this award. His level of service and commitment to ISPOR spans more than a decade, and given the demands of his ‘day job’ as professor and chair of PHSR, what he has done for ISPOR is nothing short of extraordinary. We are truly fortunate to have him as part of the ISPOR family.”

“Dr. Mullins has held numerous roles within ISPOR, all of which have contributed to his esteemed and proven reputation of outstanding leadership and continued service to the organization,” adds Karen Rascati, PhD, professor in the Division of Health Outcomes and Pharmacy Practice at the University of Texas College of Pharmacy and the first recipient of the Marilyn Dix Smith Leadership Award, who nominated Mullins for the award. “His leadership, commitment, enthusiasm, and vision for the organization are unquestionable. It was my pleasure to nominate him for this honor, and I am delighted that he was selected as this year’s recipient.”

Mullins joined the faculty at the School of Pharmacy in 1995. His research and teaching have focused on the areas of pharmacoeconomics, comparative effectiveness research, patient-centered outcomes research, and health disparities research. He has received numerous awards throughout his career, and has received funding as a principal investigator from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality; National Institute on Aging; the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute; and the Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute, as well as from various pharmaceutical manufacturers, patient advocacy organizations, and the insurance industry. He also directs the Patient-Centered Involvement in Evaluating the Effectiveness of Treatments (PATIENTS) program at the School, which aims to reduce health disparities by leveraging relationships with patient communities and health care systems to ensure that patients, health care providers, and other partners are actively engaged in research.

“It is an amazing honor to be named this year’s recipient of ISPOR’s Marilyn Dix Smith Leadership Award,” says Mullins. “I have been fortunate to have been involved with this wonderful organization for so many years, helping to improve the way in which pharmacoeconomics and outcomes research is conducted and creating opportunities for the next generation of researchers to become more involved with the organization. However, this award is about recognition of being a leader within ISPOR, and with it comes a responsibility not only for me to continue to dedicate my time to ISPOR and to continue being a leader, but also to make room for future leaders to have opportunities to volunteer with ISPOR.”

Mullins received the award during ISPOR’s 22nd Annual International Meeting in May.

Related News Stories